Chia Seeds for Health and Weight Loss

In a recent visit to Mother’s Market, I got into a conversation with a nice elderly woman who was buying chia seeds.  She said she had recently heard about amazing health benefits of chia and that when cooked they kind of have a tapioca consistency.  On a whim I through a bag in my cart and decided to give them a try.  When I arrived home Olivia immediately spotted the new find and wondered if we were going to be growing a chia pet as show on tv.  I explained to her, “No, these were for eating, I heard they were good for us and I thought we would give them a try”.  Livvey being always tenacious immediately looked up on the internet the proper techniques for growing chia seeds.  She returned with the idea that they needed to be soaked in water for a few days and then they would sprout.  This experiment went on for about 10 days at which point the now slimy and unsprouted chia seeds made their way into our garbage disposal.

However, our chia seeds did make it into this mornings bowl of steal cut oats with delicious delight.  I added two teaspoons full along with the oats and prepared as usual.  They added a slightly different texture to our oatmeal with a tapioca pop that was quite pleasant.  My thus far limited research on the benefits of eating chia seeds has uncovered the claims that they are a:

  • Highest plant-based source of omega 3
  • Rich in dietary fiber and protein
  • Doesn’t carry the health concerns of flax seeds
  • Naturally gluten-free

Another interested find was that they can help promote weight loss in a very natural and healthy way.  Great News!  Simply add 1 tablespoon of chia seeds to a bottle of water and drink 15 minutes before meals.   The chias absorb water and will give you a full feeling in your stomach helping you to not overeat during your meal while also providing you with some great nutrition.  You can also use the chia water as a drink in between meals to help curb your snack cravings.

As I am aging I have been beginning to acquire some unwanted weight and so I am going to give this a try by doing it twice a day for the next 30 days.  I know weight about 130 pounds and feel and look my best around 110 pounds. (Ya I know that is a lot of extra flab that needs to go.)  So I will let you know how it goes, I must say though that this experiment is not going to be the only change I will be making in my diet.  I also plan on cutting wheat out of my diet because I am very allergic to it, and cutting back on the animal products I consume including dairy and poultry.  I already do not consume red meat.  The elimination of wheat is going to be a tough one for me but maybe my chia seeds will help my cravings.

Melissa

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

